More with the Asking and the Answering

White Femme in Fedora smoking a cigar

See not all of my pics are dirty!

So, remember when I said I would be writing semi-regularly for DinMag.com?

Welp, I’ve done it again. Here’s an excerpt:

1.) Are you just as equally attracted to Doms and Femmes?
**Usually when a white lesbian couple is spotted in an urban area, its difficult to differentiate between the two..so its a common myth that white Femmes date everybody**

I am attracted to both Doms (or Studs as I say) and Femmes..and women who fall in between. But I do have a serious weakness for Studs though. White women definitely have our preferences, but a lot do not subscribe to the butch-femme dynamic.

I think that the white lesbian community used to look a lot more like the lesbian community among POC: small, marginalized, and tending towards a culture Dominated by the butch-femme dynamic (I’m not judging, just calling it as I see it!)

Then a few things happened:

1) Feminism: as white women became more aware of patriarchy, I think a lot of them rejected the masculine-feminine dynamic within their own community.

2) Main-streaming: As lesbianism has become more accepted in main stream white culture, more women are coming out who have not been exposed to old-school lesbian culture, and who are, frankly, embarrassed by it. They reject genderqueerness in an attempt to appear more “normal.”

Continue reading…

And check out the rest of the site while you’re there! (It is sooo worth getting the password)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

