Sorry For Being an Asshole

Admitting you're an asshole is the first step!

So it’s come to my attention that I’m an asshole. Don’t know what it is, but there’s definitely a part of me that gets off on pissing people off. That’s the part of me that takes a pro-Israel stance in arguments with rabid lefties (I’m really pro-Israelistine), debates religion with born again Christians, writes about race issues, and generally needles people with strong viewpoints. What can I say? I like arguing.

I do think that there is some value in writing things in strong, provocative terms. When I’m being somewhat of an asshole (or the whole ass) my writing is clear and direct. My writing is, at times, transgressive, which I hope makes people think–either to have new insights, or to more firmly bolster their arguments.

Every time I try not to offend, it turns all mushy and mealy mouthed. I find myself wondering–was I high when I wrote that? Probably–but that’s besides the point.

Anyways, if you have read my blog it may have offended you. I’d like to say I’m sorry–but I’m not–No wait, I am!

Especially over racial issues. But even there, I guess  it depends on what offended you. If it offends you that I am attracted to black women and occasionally black men–I’m not sorry. It took me 30 years to come to a place of acceptance with myself over these mental, physical and emotional attractions–and much of that was building up the self-esteem to believe that some of these beautiful Goddesses might actually want me back! I’m not going to apologize for who I am and who I love.

But if I said other ignorant insensitive things.–please, call me out. I can dish it out, but I can certainly take it!

2 Comments

  1. you should never feel sorry for what you say. This is your personal space, people chose to read or not read.
    read my entry on that: http://thewritersays.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/mistakes-take-one/

  2. I agree with the first comment to some degree. This IS your space to write, to rant, to rave and to say what YOU feel, regardless of topic.

    My take on being an asshole is when one likes to offend just to offend, regardless of topic. In other words, if you are trying to offend to get a rise out of others… then you are an asshole. If you’re trying to get your point across, while listening to another’s, then perhaps not.

    Enjoy writing!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

