They Want Me Femme

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve recently started talking to a man. It’s nothing serious, and we haven’t gotten that physical. (I’ve discovered I’m a lot less enthusiastic about penises than I once was–they’re actually pretty icky. But he is a good kisser with nice hands.) But it is real and there it is. I told him that I mostly date women–and he guessed that I mostly date black women. He told me he was honored that I was attracted to him, but really I felt like I had no choice. There was one moment, though, last time I saw him, when I think he had second thoughts about seeing a lesbian.

Me: “I hope it doesn’t snow on Sunday.”

Him: “Why, what’s happening Sunday?”

Me: “I have to do some work on my car: I’ve got some rust on the door, and I have to sand it down, fill it with with bondo and paint it with primer.”

His eyes got big: “So you you like to work with your hands?” He squeaked out. I could see the wheels turn in his head, as he realized that he might not be dating a Lesbian, but a bona fide Dyke, like any moment I might don a polo shirt and stud stagger (okay I could, but he doesn’t need to know that).

“Not really” I played it off, “I just can’t afford to take it to a shop.” Which was true about the money, but not true about the liking part.

I love working with my hands. I love using power tools and making things. It seems stupid that such things are gendered, though. Sure I like working on cars and building things, but I also like knitting and jewelry making and cooking.

The last woman I saw was a stone stud, so I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised when she almost broke it off with me after I told her how much I enjoyed a construction project I did back in the day–but hey, since she worked in construction, I thought she might like it that I shared some of her interests! Eh, not so much. That’s when she started calling me a butch-femme and lamenting my lack of nail polish.

Between the people I’ve been dating, and the fact that my career has taken an unexpected and unwelcome turn from Video/AV/IT to administrative work, I feel like the world wants me to be femme.

I’m just not ready to fit in that small box yet.

1 Comment

  1. some guys just don’t get it. lots of hetero women like to do build things and work on cars too. not all lesbians are total femmes.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

